CULTURE | The Best (and Worst) of Japan :: YouTube ::: »Crazy Japanese Street Dance«

You never know what to expect from your YouTube “Recommended for You” grab bag of viewing options.

Obviously, YouTube and its analytics know that I have a love/hate relationship with Japan and thought I might appreciate this offering.

It’s either your bag or it isn’t.

It makes me homesick for the tribes of Japan, the subcultures and their methods of personalization in a homogenous, conformist, and (formerly) Consumer Nation Supreme.

On my second trip to Japan, back when things were just starting to go wrong with the “Japanese Economic Miracle,” I said to my host that, after a week in Tokyo I felt bad because I still hadn’t seen any cultural sites — I’d only been shopping. She replied: “Michael, in Japan, shopping is a cultural event.”

The question is: After 20 years of recession, will Japan’s former consumer-driven economy ever recover?

The shuttered Daimaru department store in front of Osaka’s Shinsaibashi station is the stage for this performance piece.

The state of Japan’s economic decline is much more obvious in Japan’s Second City compared to the bureaucrat-driven economy of Tokyo.

As we were watching, mouths agape, we questioned whether this trio were taking the piss out of something or just what the whole thing was about. Your comments are welcome!

Daimaru Shinsaibashi Kitakan,1-7-3 Shinsaibashisuji Chuo-Ku Osaka-City Osaka Japan

Photo > Whity, Wikimedia Commons


About this entry