VANCOUVER 2010 WINTER OLYMPICS | THE CULTURAL OLYMPIAD :: VIDEO ::: JULLY BLACK :::: RUNNING (IN THAT ’60s DRESS)

Screenshots from the video:

°

°

°

Jully Black “Running” Directed By Marc André Debruyne

°

°

°

°

°

°

RUNNING

We belong to each other

And we are the people

Sharing all different races

‘Cause we are all equal

Can’t forget there’s a fight now

We don’t need a sequel

We just gotta keep moving

Supporting is crucial

°

So get ready I’m running

Yes I’m running for the right now

Can’t stop me ’cause I’m running (Running)

Yes I’m running for the fight now

Won’t stop me ’cause I’m running (I’m running)

Hey, hey, hey …

Can’t stop me ’cause I’m running (Running)

Hey, hey, hey …

Won’t stop me ’cause I’m running

°

Our liberty and our freedom

Is what we should stand for

The situation is hostile

And people need answers

Seconds away from rebellion

We gotta do something

Everyone knows you can change this

But you keep on hiding and denying

°

‘Cause I’m running

Yes I’m running for the right now

Can’t stop me ’cause I’m running (Running)

Yes I’m running for the fight now

Won’t stop me ’cause I’m running (I’m running)

Hey, hey, hey …

Can’t stop me ’cause I’m running (Running)

Hey, hey, hey …

Won’t stop me ’cause I’m running

°

Running for the right for revolution

Running ’cause it’s time for evolution

Running running for our hearts

Running running time to start

You and I we’re gonna make a team now

Me and you we’re running for the dream now

Running running for out hearts

Running running for our love

°

‘Cause I’m running

Yes I’m running for the right now

Can’t stop me ’cause I’m running (Running)

Yes I’m running for the fight now

Won’t stop me ’cause I’m running (I’m running)

Hey, hey, hey …

Can’t stop me ’cause I’m running (Running)

Hey, hey, hey …

Won’t stop me ’cause I’m running

Canada’s own Jully Brown swept into town this week to perform a series of 2010 Cultural Olympiad gigs.

From the tweet below, I think she had a good time out West (I hope so!):

°

°

°

I don’t really follow “popular” music these days, and I didn’t think that designKULTUR would concern itself much with music. But when you discover something rare and exciting, you want to share it with the whole world. Thus, this post on Ms. Black.

“Running” is an exceptional song. Its tour-de-force empowering message moves me (literally and emotionally) every time I hear it.

The lyrics (written by Jully) are right-on, and the video for the whole thing gets me pumped every time I see it. I can’t get enough of this song!

The icing on the cake, though, is the vintage ’60s dress above (bought by Jully’s wardrobe stylist in L.A. a couple of years ago according to the video’s director, Marc André Debruyne). Jully knows how to make it shake!

That metallic number reminds me of Richard Avedon’s photographs of Donyale Luna (below) wearing similar metallic dresses by ’60s sartorial superstar, Paco Rabanne, that I featured here.

So Jully is not only a fantastic singer-songwriter in the best Canadian tradition, she’s also a Canadian fashion icon.

Jully sings “Running” with such sincerity and conviction that she sometimes seems a little too serious. But when she smiles, it’s absolutely infectious:



MAKING THE VIDEO: SHOTS FROM MsTOYA @ LIVE YOUR LIFE (thanks!):

above: The dancers > La Toya Robinson, Vincent Noiseux, Lisa Auguste, Caroline Torti, Rodrigo Basurto, and Breanne Wong

below: Assistant Choreographer Tuch and Ms. Black.

If you’re new to Jully Black, take a look at these interviews …

°

°

°

°

°

°

… and if you like what you hear, click the screenshots below to access her music on iTunes:


With this record, there is so much going on in the world. A song like ‘Running’ was written around the time Obama was elected. There’s just so much going on and change and I wanted to have a song available that is very liberating for all — whatever the thing is you’re running for.

– Karen Bliss, “Jully Black opens up her Little Black Book


Jully Black is also Jullyann Inderia Gordon, the youngest daughter born to Agatha and Lloyd Gordon. I am one of nine siblings and the only child who was born in Canada.

A twin at birth, I began my life crying in harmony with my brother whose voice quickly went silent only moments after we entered into this world. For Mom was 42 years old when she gave birth to us and had no idea she had an RnB group living inside of her! Due to her excessive weight gain her boss at the time said to her, ‘This baby is either coming out with a full beard or a mouth full of teeth!’ Well he was kinda right being that there were two of us chilling in there, one being a boy waiting to meet our Rock Star Mother. And a rock star she was and still is! I often say, ‘If I could be one percent of the woman I mother is, I’d be perfect!’

– Jully Black, “In Our Own Words … In Celebration of Black History

above: Jully with her Space Age television.

below: Looking suitably Space Agey with her metallic body paint and crystals on the front and back of The Black Book. Photos by Ivan Otis. Body painting was so ’60s and I’m glad Jully is bringing it’s back!

For more about Jully and her fashion sense, check out Talk is Chic: Jully Black by Sara Graham.

> > > And Jully, please come back to the Wet Coast often!

THE VANCOUVER 2010 WINTER OLYMPICS SUITE

About this entry