MUSIC | Astrud Gilberto :: That Girl (from Ipanema)

 

°

 

I love those ’60s sets: so cool and simple — the art director obviously knew something about the Calçadão de Copacabana (Copacabana “boardwalk”). Thanks to Oslo Council for his beautiful photograph comparing the Calçadão de Copacabana with Ipanema’s paving stones:

TO ALL OF MY FANS (a message from Astrud Gilberto)

Your unconditional love has been unwavering, as it has endured the passing of several decades and, luckily for me, it even defies some of Showbiz’ shallow rules such as an artist is only ‘successful’ if and while having ‘hit’ records and media coverage. I haven’t had that in many years now, but yet you guys are, quietly, still there for me. It is as if we have this ‘underground’ love for each other …

What’s even more gratifying for me is to see that, along the way, I have acquired an additional generation of fans. Actually, I don’t like the word ‘fans’ as much as I like ‘musically kindred spirits.’

– from her official website


Let’s hear that lip-synched tune again:


°

Ah … Brasíl.

Oscar Niemeyer’s architecture hooked me years ago.

And then bossa nova cinched it for me: Brasíl rules!

the Brasil group icon

“The Girl from Ipanema” is one of my favourite tunes; Antonio Carlos Jobim is a deity in my books.

This post is a tribute to Jobim and Astrud.

Astrud was such an unlikely star and she looks so stiff in the videos. But I love her and her unique voice. Her music is guaranteed to make me a just a little bit happier.

File:Ipanema praia2.JPG

ipanema patterns by anna_t.

Photo above: Alessandro Amorim

File:Ipanema katu.jpg

Datei:Ipanema Birdie Wedding.GIF

Astrud with Antonio Carlos Jobim during the recording of “The Astrud Gilberto Album,” her first solo album, released in January 1965. Click the album cover to access the track listings:

In her post to her fans, Astrud mentions her new generation of fans. I think that the Thievery Corporation’s remix of “Who Needs Forever” has garnered her a new league of “musically kindred spirits.” This is an amazing update of one of her tunes — better than the original in my opinionated opinion. Give it a spin:

Great tune, eh? The original version is from Sidney Lumet’s 1964 film, The Pawnbroker/The Deadly Affair that was scored by Quincy Jones. Sara Vaughan sang the theme song.

The Pawnbroker/The Deadly Affair


About this entry