SHOPPING BAGS | Team Manila’s José Rizal

I like this bag. In fact, I liked almost all the bags at Team Manila Lifestyle, Mall of Asia (“third largest mall in the world!”). It’s well made (love that hidden inner pocket) and José Rizal wearing his shades is the new Che Guevara, only way cooler.

Here on the bag, José is shadeless, a rarity in TML’s solid and assured graphic styling. In a country not known for its graphic flair, it’s nice to find this team on the scene

The bags, T shirts, mugs, clocks, etc., on sale in this cool boutique had a ‘seventies-Studio-54 sort of glam to them — just the right typefaces and retro colours to put me into that frame of mind.

As I said in my post comparing TMLifestyle with bench/ Pinoy Lab, it takes a lot of chutzpah to appropriate the image of a national hero and make ₱₱₱ (that’s pisos in Filipino) out of it all.

I think it’s brilliant.

File:Php coin 1 obv.png

File:Flag of the Philippines.svg


designKULTUR: SHOPPING BAGS

RETAIL: TEAM MANILA LIFESTYLE VS. bench/PINOY LAB


About this entry