SHOPPING BAGS | SAINSBURY’S VS. CARREFOUR VS. TESCO

SAINSBURY'S VS. CARREFOUR "GREEN" BAGS

CARREFOUR REUSABLE SHOPPING BAG

Sainsbury’s vs. Carrefour. Both bags have fantastic colours, but Carrefour’s design can’t be beat. It say’s “green” in a beautifully subtle way.

I’ve never been keen on Sainsbury’s, though. And I’ve not had too much experience with Carrefour. Rather, I’ve been a big fan of Tesco since the days I lived in Guildford, Surrey. When I’m in Thailand, I always check out Tesco/Lotus, the local “branch.”

If you’re into food and retail, Tesco’s an interesting market leader with tentacles around the world. It’s biggest competitor is Carrefour.

As Europe’s two largest food retailers, Tesco and Carrefour seem to have different approaches to the plastic bag dilemma.

Carrefour Thailand was giving away the above bag, whilst Tesco seems rather Jurassic in its approach to plastic (see article below). And, Tesco bags are downright ug-ly. I’m beginning to wonder why I’m such a fan of the company.

The Carrefour is sized for shopping at the hypermarché; that makes it the perfect size to tuck into my suitcase and use on the return flight as my carry-on bag(s). Plus, the design is very striking. One of my favourites; I get excited whilst in Europe and I see people using them.

Here’s Tesco Ireland’s reusable bag. Actually, of all my “green” shopping bags, this one’s the best quality if you like your bags heavy duty. But the design! Yikes. Why does it need to say “Reusable bag”? Are we that dense? And what’s with that tagline, “Every little helps”? I’ve never quite understood what it meant, so if you have an idea, leave a comment.

TESCO IRELAND "REUSABLE BAG"

TESCO "EVERY LITTLE HELPS"

SHOPPING BAGS: bench/ PINOY LAB REUSED BILLBOARD ADS

SHOPPING BAGS: TEAM MANILA’S JOSÉ RIZAL

SHOPPING BAGS: CANADA POST’S POLAR BEAR STAMP

About this entry